The Ancient Provinces of Scotland

Old maps of Scotland did not always show counties, they often showed other districts, such as earldoms or provinces. Many of these provinces descended from the seven ancient Pictish earldoms, and others were based on similar divisions and even early versions of the counties. The map below is a modern representation of what the provinces may have looked like. These are based on a number of sources, but mainly "A New Map of Scotland With The Roads by Rob. Greene", c. 1680, which shows the provinces in colour.

To see a more detailed map of each of the large squares shown on the map, click on the relevant item in the list below the map.

Contains OS data Crown copyright and database right (2016)

List of Map Sheets

  • Sheet 3 (Western Isles, North)
  • Sheet 4 (Strathnaver, Assin, Sutherland)
  • Sheet 5 (Strathnaver, Caithness, Sutherland)
  • Sheet 6 (Western Isles, South)
  • Sheet 7 (Skye, Wester Ross)
  • Sheet 8 (Easter Ross, Moray)
  • Sheet 9 (Banff, Buchan, Mar)
  • Sheet 10 (Mull, Lochaber, Lorn)
  • Sheet 11 (Lochaber, Badenoch, Lorn, Atholl, Argyll, Strathearn, Menteith)
  • Sheet 12 (Mar, Meanrns, Gowrie, Angus, Perth, Fife)
  • Sheet 13 (Islay & Jura, Argyll, Bute)
  • Sheet 14 (Lennox, Stirling, Lothian, Renfrew, Clydesdale, Cunninghame, Kyle)
  • Sheet 15 (Lothian, Tweeddale, The Merse, Teviotdale)
  • Sheet 16 (Carrick, Galloway, Nithsdale)
  • Sheet 17 (Nithsdale, Annandale)

A. Middleton 2017