Cambridgeshire was, for a long time, effectively two separate counties: Cambridgeshire itself and the Isle of Ely, which comprised the hundreds of Ely, Wisbech and North and South Witchford.

This map shows the county of Cambridgeshire with its hundreds c. 1845.

The parishes comprising each hundred are listed below. Click here for a detailed map of the parishes of Cambridgeshire, coloured according to hundreds.


Abington Pigotts, Basingbourn, Croydon cum Clopton, East Hatley, Kneesworth, Litlington, Melbourn, Meldreth, Guilden Morden, Steeple Morden, Royston (shared with Hertfordshire), Shingay, Tadlow, Wendy, Whaddon.


Chesterton, Childerley, Cottenham, Dry Drayton, Histon, Westwick (part of Oakington parish, shared with Northstowe).


Ashley cum Silverley, Cheveley, Kirlting, Newmarket All Saints, Woodditton.


Great Abington, Little Abington, Babraham, Bartlow, Castle Camps, Hildersham, Horseheath, Linton, Olmstead (part of Helions Bumpstead, Essex) Pampisford, Shudy Camps, West Wickham.


Downham, Ely St Mary, Ely Trinity, Hilgay (shared with Norfolk), Littleport.


Cherry Hinton, Fen Ditton, Fulbourn, Horningsea, Teversham.


Bourn, Caldecote, Caxton, Croxton, Eltisley, Great Eversden, Little Eversden, Gamlingay, Little Gransden, Hardwick, Hatley St George, Kingston, Longstowe, Toft.


Girton, Impington, Landbeach, Lolworth, Longstanton All Saints, Longstanton St Michael, Madingley, Milton, Oakington (shared with Chesterton), Rampton, Waterbeach.


Boxworth, Conington, Elsworth, Fen Drayton, Graveley, Knapwell, Over, Papworth Everard, Papworth St Agnes (shared with Huntingdon), Swavesey, Willingham.


Balsham, Brinkley, Burrough Green, Carlton cum Willingham, Dullingham, Stetchworth, Westley Waterless, Weston Colville, West Wratting.


Bottisham, Stow cum Quy, Swaffham Bulbeck, Swaffham Prior, Great Wilbraham, Little Wilbraham.


Burwell, Chippenham, Fordham, Isleham, Kennett, Landwade, Snailwell, Soham, Wicken.


Fowlmere, Foxton, Harston, Hauxton, Newton, Great Shelford, Little Shelford, Stapleford, Thriplow, Trumpington.


Arrington, Barrington, Barton, Comberton, Coton, Grantchester, Harlton, Haslingfield, Orwell, Shepreth, Wimpole.


Duxford, Hinxton, Ickleton, Sawston, Whittlesford.


Elm, Leverington, Newton, Outwell (shared with Norfolk), Thorney, Tydd St Giles, Upwell (shared with Norfolk), Wisbech St Mary, Wisbech St Peter.

North Witchford

Chatteris, Doddington, Stanground (shared with Huntingdon), Whittlesey.

South Witchford

Coveney, Grunty Fen, Haddenham, Mepal, Stretham, Sutton, Welches Dam, Wentworth, Wilburton, Witcham, Witchford.

Parishes in the City of Cambridge

All Saints, Holy Trinity, St Andrew the Great, St Andrew the Less, St Benedict, St Botolph, St Clement, St Edward, St Giles, St Mary the Great, St Mary the Less, St Michael, St Peter, St Sepulchre.


© Alex Middleton 2011